Home | News | General | Breaking: Victory goes to PDP as party wins legislative seat in El-Rufai’s Kaduna, APC declared winner in Cross River
Real Madrid legend reveals why Messi is better than Ronaldo despite playing alongside the Portuguese
Breaking: APC’s hope diminished again as INEC declares winner of Bauchi Reps election result

Breaking: Victory goes to PDP as party wins legislative seat in El-Rufai’s Kaduna, APC declared winner in Cross River

- Comfort Amwe, a female candidate in an opposition party, defeats the candidate of the All Progressives Congress in Kaduna state

- The was, however, a narrow victory as announced by Nigeria's election umpire

- The poll was conducted to fill a House of Assembly seat in the state

In an unexpected verdict in Kaduna where Governor Nasir El-Rufai holds sway, Comfort Amwe of the opposing Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state is announced winner of a legislative election held Saturday, January 25.

Nigeria's election body, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), made the announcement saying Amwe got the victory at the poll to represent Sanga constituency in the state's House of Assembly.

Addressing those gathered to receive the result, INEC's Salihu Kargi who is a staff of the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, said early Sunday, January 26, that Amwe got the highest number of votes during the exercise.

Just in: APC trounced as INEC announces major victory in northern state’s supplementary election

He said Amwe had 19,815 votes against Haliru Gambo-Dangana of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 19,688 in a rerun election conducted in 14 polling units in the local government.

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Alex Egbonna of the APC winner of the House of Representatives election for Yakurr/Abi federal constituency in Cross River.

The state Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Alalibo Johnson, announced the result on Sunday at the collation centre in Ugep, Yakurr local government area.

Alalibo said that the APC candidate got 29,716 votes to defeat his closest opponent, John Lebo of the PDP who secured 26,039 votes.

INEC also declared Davies Etta of the PDP as winner of Abi constituency seat in the state House of Assembly.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Etta polled 13, 349 votes to defeat his closest rirval, Mr Eyeng Iwqara of the APC who had 8, 792 votes.

Just in: APC in trouble as its candidate defects to PDP days to re-run election

Legit.ng earlier reported how the APC was trounced in the supplementary election conducted by Nigeria's election umpire in Bauchi for the House of Representatives.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) - Legit.ng. We have upgraded to serve you better.

Atiku is the least competent person to speak about Nigerian judiciary - Oshiomhole | Legit TV

[embedded content]

CLICK HERE TO READ MORE FROM: General Visit website


view more articles

About Article Author

Chuka (Webby) Aniemeka
Chuka (Webby) Aniemeka

Chuka is an experienced certified web developer with an extensive background in computer science and 18+ years in web design &development. His previous experience ranges from redesigning existing website to solving complex technical problems with object-oriented programming. Very experienced with Microsoft SQL Server, PHP and advanced JavaScript. He loves to travel and watch movies.

View More Articles

100 Most Popular News

1 2 Displaying 1 - 100 of 152